Read and/or post to learn more about the different aspects of the Medicare Program.

Medicare Parts A and B

Medicare Parts A and B is referred to as Original Medicare. At the age of 65, most U.S. citizens become eligible to enroll in the Medicare Program. Medicare-eligible enrollees have a 7-month period to enroll in Medicare Parts A and B. The 7-month period consists of the 3 months prior to the birth month, the birth month, and the 3 months following...

read more

Medicare Advantage Plans

A Medicare Advantage Plan (MA) is also referred to as Part C. Medicare Advantage Plans can include drug coverage (MAPD) or no drug coverage (MA). In order to be eligible to enroll in a Medicare Advantage Plan, you must be enrolled in Medicare Parts A and B, AND maintain both parts. There are pros and cons to these types of plans. And you should...

read more

Medicare Supplement Policy

A Medicare Supplement Policy is also referred to as Medigap. A Medigap policy is designed to fill-in the gaps of Original Medicare, Parts A and B. There are a number of plans available to purchase, Plans A-N. Note that the availability of the different policies may vary from state to state. For North Carolinians, the North Carolina Department of...

read more

Prescription Drug Coverage

Medicare prescription drug coverage (PDP) can be obtained through stand-alone prescription drug plans (Part D) or included in a Medicare Advantage Plan. Many Medicare enrollees who purchase a supplement/Medigap policy also enroll in stand-alone PDP (Part D). Unless an...

read more

Cost Assistance-Part D

The program to obtain assistance with prescription drug costs is called Low-Income Assistance (LIS) or Extra Help. This particular program provides assistance (full or partial) with prescription drug plan premiums, deductibles and copays. There are income guidelines...

read more

Medicare Savings Program (MSP)

The Medicare Savings Program (MSP) is a program that assists Medicare beneficiaries with costs associated with Medicare Parts A and B, such as the Part B premium, Part A and B deductibles and coinsurance. There are three levels of the program; Medicare Qualified...

read more